Advanced Moderation Tasks

This page describes the moderation tasks allowed from the admin console under several categories and menus.

Accept, Publish, Close, Report or Delete Content Awaiting Moderation

If you are a Moderator who is also part of the Super Users group, you will have access to the admin console. From the admin console, there is the option to manage content in the moderation queue.

Location: Content > Manage > In Moderation

There are four tabs to review content in moderation: Newest, Active, Hottest, and More Votes are the available views for content awaiting moderation.

Within each tab, you will see five buttons to perform several types of actions. You have the option of accepting, publishing, closing, reporting, or deleting content awaiting moderation.

The result of each action:

  • Accepting:
  • Publishing:
  • Closing:
  • Reporting:
  • Deleting:

There is also the option of changing the space (moving the content to a different space) by selecting the post(s), then clicking on the drop-down next to Change Space, and selecting the desired space to move the post to.

Filter and Sort Moderated Content

Filter by Content-Type

Filter the type of content to display by clicking the Content-Type drop-down menu and selecting a content type. You can select from: All, Topic, Comment, Kbentry, Answer, Question, Idea Comment, or Idea.

Advanced Filtering Options

Below the Content-Type drop-down menu, click the more options link to display the advanced filtering options.

Result: The State and Relation filter, Statistics Filter, and Users Filter menus display at the top of the Content Management page.

📘

NOTE:

To view only content in moderation, you must select In Review (QA), from the "with state" list.

Filter by the State of the Content

Filter the "with or without state" list by selecting from the following:

  • Delete (*): Filters deleted content.
  • Reject (R): Filters rejected content.
  • Wiki (QA): Filters wikified Questions and Answers.
  • Close (Q): Filters closed Questions.
  • Accept (A): Filters accepted Answers.
  • With Icon (T): Filters topics with an icon.
  • In Review (QA): Filters Question and Answers under review.

📘

NOTE:

If you select the same state in both the "with state" and "without state" lists, then no content will display.

Filter by Specific Actions Performed by Users

Filter whether "users have" or "users have not" performed specific actions by selecting from the following:

  • Reported (QAC): Filters reported Questions, Answers, and content.
  • Voted Down (QAC): Filters down-voted Questions, Answers, and content.
  • Voted Up (QAC): Filters up-voted Questions, Answers, and content.
  • Marked Favorite (Q): Filters Questions marked as a favorite by a user.

Filter by Spaces

Select the space(s) from the "include spaces or exclude spaces" lists.

All the spaces available in your community will appear in the list.

Add a Statistics Filter

Click the Statistics Filter drop-down menu and select from the following:

  • Usage Count (T): Filters topics by the number of nodes tagged with it.
  • Answer Count (Q): Filters Questions by the number of Answers given.
  • Score (QAC): Filters Questions, Answers, and content by score.
  • View Count (Q): Filters Questions by the number of times viewed.
  • Comment Count (QA): Filters Questions and Answers by their comments.
  • Favorite Count (Q): Filters Questions by the number of times favorited.
  • Report Count (QAC): Filters Questions, Answers, and content by the number of reports.

To add the selected filter, click the ADD button below the Statistics Filter drop-down menu.

  • Minimum and maximum text fields will populate once you add a statistics filter from the list.
    • Enter the Minimum and Maximum values in the text fields for each of the added statistics filters.

Filter by Specific Users

Enter the first few letters of the username(s) in the Add User text field and select the user from the list.

Result: The user displays below Users Filter with a filter option list.

Select the filtering option for each of the users added from the following list:

  • Is Author: Filters content to include only that which the selected user created.
  • Reported (QAC): Filters content to include only that which the selected user reported.
  • Voted Down (QAC): Filters content to include only that which the selected user down-voted.
  • Voted Up (QAC): Filters content to include only that which the selected user up-voted.
  • Marked Favorite (QAC): Filters content to include only content the selected user favorited.

To save each new advanced filter for future use, click the SAVE THIS FILTER button.

Result: When saved, the system adds the new filter to the Content Navigation sidebar under the Manage Content menu.

To refresh the content based on your new filters, click the REFRESH button.

Result: The content will re-populate based on your filters.

Manage Topics

You can add topics by clicking on the ADD TOPICS button. This option will allow the moderator to create a new topic they believe would be beneficial to add to the community.

Sorting Filtered Content

To sort the filtered content, select a Sorting tab at the top of the Content Management pane or select a sorting option from the Advanced Sort drop-down menu.

  • Sorting Tab Options: Newest, Active, Hottest, More Votes
  • Advanced Sorting Options: Newest, Most Views, Most Uses (relates to the number of times a topic gets used), Most Answers, Least Answers, Most Comments, Most Favorited, Most Followers, Most Reported

Create a Custom Moderator Group

You may want to put all your moderators into a group to easily manage their permissions and roles within your AnswerHub community. You can also use this feature to grant only moderator access to specific nodes.

To create a moderator group, follow these steps:

Pre-requisite: You must have Administrator or SuperUser permissions to perform this task.

  1. From your AnswerHub site, click the Avatar drop-down menu and select Administration.
    Result: The Administrator Dashboard displays.
  2. Navigate to the Users & Groups category.
  3. Select the Manage menu and then the Groups menu.
    Result: The system will take you to the Manage Groups page.
  4. Click the CREATE A NEW GROUP[ button
    Result: The New Group page displays.
  5. Enter the required information in the following fields:
    a. Name: Enter the name of the new group.
    b. Description: Enter the description of the new group.
    c. Weight: Enter the weight that you would like the new group to have. The large numeric value equals a heavier weight and falls lower on the list of groups.
  6. Click the SAVE button.
    Result: The Viewing [group name] page displays with a green bar at the top that states, "Group, '[group name]', successfully created."

Configure the Spam words Filter in the Spam Protection Menu

The spam words filter is available in the spam protection menu (this menu auto-populates once you enable the shield plugin).

Automatically Send Content to the Moderation Queue

If you would like content sent to moderation before publishing on your AnswerHub site, you will need to revoke certain permissions from your users.

📘

NOTE:

To see more about permissions, type "permissions" into the search bar and select all relevant sections of the documentation for your needs. There are several sections on permissions and configurations.

Prerequisite: You must have Administrator or SuperUser permissions to perform this task.

  1. From your AnswerHub site, click the Avatar drop-down menu and select Administration.
    Result: The Administrator console displays.
  2. Navigate to the Users & Groups category.
  3. Select the Manage menu and then the Groups menu.
    Result: The Manage Groups page displays.
  4. Locate the group of users whose content you want sent directly to moderation.
  5. Click the Permissions link next to the group’s name on the table.
    Result: The Permissions: [group name] page displays.
  6. Click the please click here link above the table to edit individual group permissions.
    Result: The Advanced Editor pane displays.
  7. Locate the content type(s) that you would like to have automatically sent to moderation.
  8. Select the Status drop-down menu beside the permission and select Revoke.
  9. Click the SUBMIT button.
    Result: A green bar that states, "Roles saved successfully" displays at the top of the Permissions: [group name] page.

What’s Next
Did this page help you?