Understanding Answers in AnswerHub

Answers are a user’s way of resolving a Question posted by another user in their community. You can accept or reject Answers, and even up- or down-vote them, depending on how your community’s voting feature is set up. Answers allow users to exchange their knowledge with one another. Answering a Question takes the knowledge one user possesses, and lets them share it with anyone who is seeking that same knowledge.

Example Scenario

For Example: There may be a user in their community who knows how to perform a niche task many others do not. When another user asks how to perform said task, rather than just that one user gaining the knowledge, instead we make it available for all the users in that community to have.

What you Can Do with Answers

From the Question User Interface, you can do the following:

  • Answer a Question.
  • Edit an Answer.
  • Accept or Unaccept an Answer.
  • Share an Answer.
  • Wikify or Unwikify an Answer.

Answer A Question

To answer a question, follow these steps:

  1. Log in to your AnswerHub site.
    Result: The AnswerHub User Interface (UI) displays.
  2. Locate and select the Question you want to answer.
    Result: The Question UI displays.
  3. In the "Write an Answer" field, enter your Answer.
  4. Click the "POST YOUR ANSWER" button.
    Result: Your Answer displays underneath the Question.

Edit An Answer

To edit an Answer, follow these steps:

📘

NOTE:

You can only edit your own content if you have additional permissions.

  1. Log in to your AnswerHub site.
    Result: The AnswerHub User Interface (UI) displays.
  2. Locate Question with the Answer to edit.
    Result: The Question UI displays.
  3. To the right of the answer, click the gear icon and select Edit from the drop-down menu.
    Result: The Edit Answer screen displays.
  4. Make the required edits.

📘

NOTE:

You can revert your answer back to previous versions if need be.

  1. Click the SAVE CHANGES button.
    Result: The Question UI displays.

Accept Or Unaccept An Answer

To accept an Answer, follow these steps:

  1. Log in to your AnswerHub site.
    Result: The AnswerHub User Interface (UI) displays.
  2. Locate and select the required Question.
    Result: The Question UI displays.
  3. Locate the Answer to accept or unaccept.

📘

NOTE:

By default, users can only accept or unaccept answers to questions they’ve authored.

  1. To accept the answer, do the following:
    a. Click the Accept link.
    Result: The accepted Answer moves to the top of the Answers list and displays in a green box. "Accepted Answer" displays to the right of the Answerer’s username, and the Accept link changes to Unaccept.
    Best Practice: If there are two or more Answers you could accept, it is best to only accept an Answer if the other Answers are incorrect.
  2. To unaccept the Answer, do the following:
    a. Click the Unaccept link.
    Result: The unaccepted Answer displays in its original place in the Answers list based on the date and time it posted, and it no longer displays in a green box. "Accepted Answer" no longer displays to the right of the Answerer’s username, and the Unaccept link changes to Accept.

Share

Note that functionality of the share feature has changed in version 2.17.0 and later versions of AnswerHub. Prior versions limited sharing of comments and answers and returned a URL which the user could paste into email or other systems and only allowed shares of answers. Later versions of AnswerHub provide sharing of all content types and provides permission controlled sharing which can selectively allows share control for groups and spaces and connects to the notification systems email and other notifications.

To share an answer, follow these steps:

  1. Log in to your AnswerHub site.
    Result: The AnswerHub User Interface (UI) displays.
  2. Locate and select the required Question.
    Result: The Question UI displays.
  3. Decide if you wish to share the question, or particular answer or comment.
  4. Click the Share icon on the corresponding piece of content
    Result: A dialog box is presented. You can enter user names with whom you wish to share the content, up to a maximum of 10 names.
  5. Copy the Answer and paste it to the required location.
  6. Click the *Submit button.
    Result:** A green "shared" success message is presented and the dialog box may now be closed via the 'close' button.

Wikify or Unwikify An Answer

As a user, you can wikify or unwikify your own Answers.

Prerequisite: You must have the "Convert own posts to community wiki" permission to perform this task.

To wikify or unwikify an Answer, follow these steps:

  1. Log in to your AnswerHub site.
    Result: The AnswerHub User Interface (UI) displays.
  2. Locate and select the Answer to wikify.
    Result: The Question UI displays.

📘

NOTE:

An Answer you have already wikified, displays with the Wiki icon next to the username inside of the Answer.

  1. To wikify an Answer, do the following:
    a. Click the gear icon to the right of the Answer, and select Wikify from the drop-down menu.
    Result: The Wiki icon displays next to the username inside of the Answer.
  2. To unwikify an Answer, do the following:
    a. Click the gear icon to the right of the Answer, and select Unwikify from the drop-down menu.
    Result: The Wiki icon no longer displays inside the Answer.

What’s Next
Did this page help you?