Access from the Admin Console

Location: Users & Groups > Manage Menu > Users

Overview

In this menu, you can do the following:

  1. Create/Import users.
  2. Search for users.
  3. View a tabular list of existing users; sort, suspend, unsuspend, deactivate, reactivate, or add users to a group in bulk.

Create/Import Users

Click the CREATE/IMPORT USERS button to get to the Create/Import Users page.

There are two tabs on the page: Create user and Import users.

Search for Users

The search bar is on the top right-hand side of the page, autocompletes as you type and has a Find deactivated users checkbox directly below the text field to select.

Tabular View of Existing Users

There are five columns as follows:

  1. Username
  2. Created date
  3. Primary Email
  4. Reputation
  5. The wrench icon.

Hide Columns

You can change the view of the table by selecting the drop-down menu icon directly above the wrench column. You can remove Username, Created Date, Primary Email and Reputation from the tabular view.

Bulk Changes

You can select multiple users to make bulk changes from the Bulk Change drop-down menu, as follows:

  • Add selected to group
  • Suspend selected
  • Deactivate selected

Sort by

You can sort by: Reputation, Username or Created date.

Wrench icon drop-down

You can navigate to permissions and groups or view questions, edit, suspend or deactivate a user as follows:

  • Permissions: Takes you to the permissions page for that specific user.
  • Groups: Takes you to the group membership page for that specific user.
  • View Questions: Takes you to the user's profile page in the community UI to see the user's activity.
  • Edit: Takes you to the manage users page where you can edit account information, authentication modes, and group memberships by selecting any of those three tabs. You can also select the wrench icon to navigate to the user's public profile, see the user activity report, and manage followed items.
  • Suspend: Suspends the user's account until unsuspended by the admin's/moderator's choice. You may suspend user accounts, which prevents them from logging back in. This may be reversed. Suspended users still count in the list of registered users on the site.
  • Deactivate: Deactivates the user's account. Deactivated users cannot sign-in but do not count in the user license. Internal sites with set user limits may wish to deactivate users who leave the community to free up the user license. There is an option to hide content from deactivated users, although this is generally not a common practice.

What’s Next
Did this page help you?